Panel Discussion to cover Blue Ribbon Task Force

Need to know what’s ahead for the Blue Ribbon Task Force?

This year’s ASBSD-SASD Convention will provide answers.

Blue Ribbon Task Force Co-Chairs Rep. Jacqueline Sly and Sen. Deb Soholt along with fellow task force members ASBSD 1st Vice President Eric Stroeder and Aberdeen Superintendent Dr. Becky Guffin will be part of Convention Friday’s Panel Discussion.


Eric Stroeder     Guffin_Photo

The trio will share insights about the work of the Task Force, which will examine student success, the teacher workforce, education funding and potential sources of revenue, and answer questions about the process.

“I believe it is the best opportunity we have had to reshape our education system in a long time,” Stroeder, the Mobridge School Board Vice President, said after his appointment to the task force.

Stroeder was appointed by Gov. Dennis Daugaard to serve on the Task Force in June, along with other education and community members from across the state. Rep. Sly and Sen. Soholt were among the initial wave of appointments in March; each legislator serves as Chair of their respective chamber’s education committee. The full Task Force is scheduled to meet for the first time on July 7.

BRTF logo

ASBSD Executive Director Wade Pogany will moderate the discussion, which is scheduled to begin at 10:30 a.m. on Friday. Additional individuals may join the panel.

Check out the Convention schedule here.